sterndrives, inboards, PWCs and sailboats). Remember, it’s illegal to deface, alter or remove the HIN. You can renew your registration with the IDPR by submitting the proper information and renewal fees: If you lose or damage your boat's Certificate of Number, you can obtain a duplicate by going to your local county assessor's office OR authorized boat registration vendor and: Although there aren't statewide requirements requiring boaters to obtain a license or be of a certain age before operating a vessel, certain Idaho counties have their own rules regarding qualifications to operate a boat. A must-have service for any prospective buyer, marine lender, or maritime professional. It won't be used in Idaho for more than 90 days in any consecutive 12-month period. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. in hand. Get fishing tips and tricks and read personal stories from anglers who live and breathe fishing and boating. that the Department of Motor Vehicles will provide telephone verifications on information shown on boat title or registration certificates This includes kayaks, canoes, and inflatable rafts. Vessels registered in another state and using Idaho waters for 60 consecutive days or less. Home About Us Calendar Contact Us Accessibility Privacy & Security Idaho.gov Cybersecurity, Mandatory verification of your hull identification number (HIN), New requirements for unique identifiers for all boat owners, Your driver’s license and date of birth (Idaho residents only) OR. It is also reported Validation stickers must be affixed on both sides of the vessel, placed within six inches, and in line with the vessel number. You must register your boat with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation within 15 days of the purchase date. Boat registration numbers in Idaho begin with an "ID" designation which is followed IV. terms of use before proceeding. Numbers must be separated from the letters by a space or hyphen equal to the letter width. Get the information you need to register your boat in Idaho. What are the changes to the U.S. Coast Guard regulations? Hull identification number (HIN) verification that meets U.S. Coast Guard standards. Idaho law requires kids 14 years and younger to wear their life jacket on all boats 19' and under, while underway. You will need to work with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation, the Idaho Department of Transportation, or your local DMV to update your records before you will be able to register your boat for 2017. The sticker is required on all hard-sided boats 10' or more feet in length. The boat’s title or a bill of sale. You will need to have your boat registration paperwork, your Certificate of Title, all required safety equipment, and follow the boating rules of the road. Renewal notices will be mailed out to vessel owners. The Certificate of Number must be on board during operation and must be available for inspection by a law enforcement officer. However, record printouts may be obtained You will need to work with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation, the Idaho Department of Transportation, or your local DMV to update your records before you will be able to register your boat for 2017. "Wiki-Share" link to contribute further details or suggest a revision. A 45 day temporary registration may be issued if a valid bill-of-sale is presented along with payment of all registration fees. Department of Parks and Recreation (IDPR) The boat or trailer is intended for use outside Idaho and won't require titling in Idaho. Boat trailer registrations are handled through the Division of Motor Vehicles. We’re on a mission to get you to the water, trail, field and mountain with more confidence. Expired stickers must be removed or completely covered by the new sticker. Do not exceed the capacity of the boat (count the people being towed as well as the people in the boat.) 70 Purchase an invasive species sticker for your boat Renew your boat, snowmobile or off-highway vehicle (ATV) registration The U.S. Coast Guard requires us to collect different information on hull types, boat propulsion types, boat engine drives, and boat vessel types. The Hull Identification Number identifies: Vessel owners are required to notify the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation (IDPR) within 15 days if they change their address, if their vessel is abandoned, destroyed or sold, or if the vessel is stolen. Learn more about our online courses and what we do. To register your boat and obtain a Certificate of Number, submit an application and fee to the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation at the following address: The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation boats along with registration sticker tabs. What should I be concerned about regarding my HIN? Sales and According to Idaho’s boat registration requirements, you must obtain a Certificate of Number and validation stickers to legally operate a boat within the state. IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION Before you take your new boat out for the first time, you will need to register the vessel with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) and pay the associated registration fees. Continue reading to learn about boat registration (See example, image right). properly attach your registration number and stickers, ID Boat Registration Renewals & Replacements. Division of Motor vehicles.